Topside

Volume 3, Number 7, Page 1

 

April 2001


Director - Dave Dinsmore, (206) 526-6705, dave.dinsmore@noaa.gov
Operations Manager - Bill Cobb, (206) 526-6460, bill.cobb@noaa.gov
Equipment Coordinator - Steve Urick, (206) 526-6223, steve.urick@noaa.gov
SEP Technician - Andrea Lim, (206) 526-6446, andrea.lim@noaa.gov
Budget/Program Analyst - Laurie Barber, (206) 526-6695, laurie.barber@noaa.gov
Office Automation Secretary - Sondra Huber, (206) 526-6623, sondra.huber@noaa.gov
SEP Assistant - Lisa Glover, (206) 526-6446, lisa.glover@noaa.gov
Fax - 206-526-6506
Website address -
http://www.ndc.noaa.gov
Mailing Address -
7600 Sand Point Way NE
Seattle, WA 98115

NOAA DIVERíS HANDBOOK

This is the final call for input on a NOAA Diverís Field Handbook. NDP hopes to have published a field handbook for all NOAA divers much like the U.S. Navy version. We need your input as to what information would be most useful in this handbook. The intent of this publication will be to provide a ready, compact resource on-site for diving operations. UDS Seminar attendees were all provided a questionnaire to be filled out and turned back in to NDC. Its still not too late to submit completed questionnaires. Suggestions regarding handbook content are, of course, welcome from all NOAA divers.End of article

SCIENTIFIC DIVEMASTERS

Another decision resulting from the Safety Board meeting addresses Scientific divers as Divemasters. In the past Scientific divers have not been able to attend Divemaster training. This rule has changed. Scientific divers may now act as Divemasters for scientific diving operations only, after successfully completing NOAA Divemaster training. They may supervise both Scientific and Working divers. They may not be Divemasters of diving operations classified as working dives. Please contact NDC if you have any questions regarding this new policy.End of article

DIVE COMPUTER TESTING

A contract has been awarded to test dive computers for possible future use by NOAA divers. Over a 90 day period several different computers

 

will undergo testing to identify units most suitable for use by the NOAA Diving Program. Testing will include both bench testing and in the field trials. If a suitable unit can be identified, this is the first step in bringing dive computers to the NDP and the SEP. Dive computers are currently not authorized for use by NOAA divers for on-duty diving.End of article

TRAINING SCHEDULE

The "MayĒ Working Diver class commences April 30. Both the Working Diver and Divemaster classes are full and NDC is no longer accepting applications to these classes. The last two Working Diver courses have had more applicants than we have had training spots. Typically the September Working Diver and Divemaster courses are not as full as the January or May classes. However, there has already been significant interest in the September course. If your ship or unit is interested in sending a diver to the September courses, please contact Laurie Barber at NDC at your earliest convenienceEnd of article

The following classes are scheduled for 2001/2002:

Apr 30 - May 18Working DiverSeattle, WA
May 14 - 18DivemasterSeattle, WA
August ????Diver RefresherSeattle, WA
Sep 10 - 28Working DiverSeattle, WA
Sep 24 - 28DivemasterSeattle, WA
Nov 26 - Dec 7EMT - BasicSeattle, WA
Dec 10 - 15Dive Medic TrngSeattle, WA
Jan 07 - 25, 02Working DiverKey West, FL
Jan 21 - 25, 02DivemasterKey West, FL


Previous Newsletter Previous Newsletter Page 2 NDP Home Page Next Newsletter Next Newsletter