Topside

Volume 3, Number 2, Page 1

 

October 2000

NDC CONTACT INFORMATION
Director - Dave Dinsmore, (206) 526-6705, dave.dinsmore@noaa.gov
Operations Manager - Bill Cobb, (206) 526-6460, bill.cobb@noaa.gov
Equipment Coordinator - Steve Urick, (206) 526-6223, steve.urick@noaa.gov
SEP Technician - Andrea Lim, (206) 526-6446, andrea.lim@noaa.gov
Budget/Program Analyst - Laurie Barber, (206) 526-6695, laurie.barber@noaa.gov
Office Automation Secretary - Sondra Huber, (206) 526-6623, sondra.huber@noaa.gov
Fax - 206-526-6506
Website address -
http://www.ndc.noaa.gov
Mailing Address -
7600 Sand Point Way NE
Seattle, WA 98115
SEP ISSUES

o Regulator Return When a replacement regulator is received from NDC because your present regulator is due for annual service, remember to remove the compass from the console and the LP inflator whip from the first stage. These two items should be re-installed on the replacement regulator. The first and second stage regulators along with the UWATEC depth gauge, cylinder pressure gauge, and Octopus regulator (if applicable) should be returned to NDC ASAP for service. All five of these items require annual testing/maintenance at NDC.

o Gear Requests Divers requesting equipment should fill-out and submit a Standardized Equipment Program Transaction Form. Remember to include sizes for all applicable items and thickness (1/4 vs 1/8) for 5 fingered gloves. For wetsuits, remember to specify suit size, thickness (1/4 vs 1/8), and if both the jacket and farmer john are required.

All diver candidates for Working Diver, newly certified Scientific divers, and anyone unsure of what size equipment to request should submit a SEP Measurement Form along with their Transaction Form. Scientific Divers must have fully completed the certification process before gear will be issued. All forms must be signed by the UDS, may be faxed or mailed to NDC, and can be obtained on the NDC website at: http://www.ndc.noaa.gov/uds/. Please contact SEP Technician Andrea Lim with any questions. End of Article

 
TRAINING SCHEDULE

Candidates for the January 2001 class in Key West, FL are currently being placed on a waiting list due to high demand. In order to maintain a requested slot, units must ensure that NDC promptly receives required materials for enrolled candidates. Failure to submit required information in a timely manner may result in loss of a slot. Forms required are available either by request or by visiting the website: http://www.ndc.noaa.gov/uds/forms.htm. At the top of the web-page are complete Diver Training form packets that may be printed out. Please complete all forms, providing the information requested and submit the information to the NOAA Diving Center by fax (206) 526 6506 or by mail.

The following training classes are currently scheduled for calendar year 2000:

Oct 16 - 27 UHMS Physicians Seattle, WA
Dec 11 - 12 EMT Competency Based Training
The following classes are scheduled for 2001:
Jan 08 - 26 Working Diver Key West, FL
Jan 22 - 26 Divemaster Key West, FL
May 07 - 25 Working Diver Seattle, WA
May 21 - 25 Divemaster Seattle, WA
Sep 10 - 28 Working Diver Seattle, WA
Sep 24 - 28 Divemaster Seattle, WA

Please note that the training dates for FY 2001 are tentative and are provided to assist advanced planning. More information pertaining to these classes may be viewed on our website or contact Laurie Barber at NDC. End of Article



Previous Newsletter Previous Newsletter Page 2 NDP Home Page Next Newsletter Next Newsletter