Topside Banner

Volume 3, Number 16, Page 1

 

February 2002


Director - Dave Dinsmore, (206) 526-6705, dave.dinsmore@noaa.gov
Operations Manager - Bill Cobb, (206) 526-6460, bill.cobb@noaa.gov
Equipment Coordinator - Steve Urick, (206) 526-6223, steve.urick@noaa.gov
SEP Technician - Bill Gordon, (206) 526-6446, bill.j.gordon@noaa.gov
Budget/Program Analyst - Laurie Barber, (206) 526-6695, laurie.barber@noaa.gov
Office Automation Secretary - Sondra Huber, (206) 526-6623, sondra.huber@noaa.gov
SEP Assistant - Lisa Glover, (206) 526-6446, lisa.glover@noaa.gov
Fax - 206-526-6506
Website address -
http://www.ndc.noaa.gov
Mailing Address -
NOAA Diving Center
7600 Sand Point Way NE
Seattle, WA 98115-0070

TRAINING SCHEDULE

Dates for the next Working Diver Refresher course are set for March 26 - 29, 2002 (Tuesday - Friday). This 4-day course is designed to “refresh” divers whose NOAA certification has lapsed for a year or more. It’s also designed to certify active recreationally certified divers as NOAA Scientific Divers. Contact LT Bill Cobb if you are interested in attending this refresher course

Contact Laurie Barber if you are interested in the April/May 2002 Working Diver or Divemaster courses . These classes are filling fast!!

Please note: Dates previously listed for the May Divemaster course were incorrect. The correct training dates are listed below.End of Article

The following classes are scheduled for 2002:
Mar 26 - 29Diver RefresherSeattle, WA
Apr 29 - May 17Working DiverSeattle, WA
May 13 - 17DivemasterSeattle, WA
Sep 9 - 27Working DiverSeattle, WA
Sep 23 - 27DivemasterSeattle, WA
2003 :
Jan 13 - 31Working DiverKey West, FL
Jan 27 - 31DivemasterKey West, FL
 
DIVE LOCKER INSPECTIONS

Important - Annual dive locker inspections are required by NAO 209-123 (the Regs). Diving Safety Inspection Checklists, used to conduct these inspections, were distributed to all units and ships in October. These checklists are important to better ensure that unit/ship dive lockers are evaluated with a critical eye with regard to equipment condition and maintenance, organization, resource availability, etc. Completed checklists were due from all units/ships by January 31. Units/ships failing to submit dive locker inspections to their LODO by Feb 28, 2002 will result in the suspension of diving certifications for all divers in that unit. Inspection checklists are also available online at the NDC web site. Those ships/units/sub-units who have already performed this inspection and submitted their checklists, THANK YOU End of Article

ANNUAL MEDICAL HISTORY

Annual Medical History Report forms ( NOAA Form 56-59 ) are due from all NOAA divers age 59 and younger by March 1 of each new calendar year. Forms may be faxed or mailed directly to the NOAA Diving Center, and are available online from the NDC web site or by request from NDC. Divers should note any health changes from their last medical history form submitted to NDC. These forms do not require the signature of a physician nor anyone else besides the diver. Failure to submit this form by March 1 will results in the suspension of the diver’s NOAA certification End of Article



Previous Newsletter Previous Newsletter Page 2 Page 3 Page 4 NDP Home Page Next Newsletter Next Newsletter