Topside Banner

Volume 3, Number 15, Page 1

 

December/January 2001/2002


Director - Dave Dinsmore, (206) 526-6705, dave.dinsmore@noaa.gov
Operations Manager - Bill Cobb, (206) 526-6460, bill.cobb@noaa.gov
Equipment Coordinator - Steve Urick, (206) 526-6223, steve.urick@noaa.gov
SEP Technician - Bill Gordon, (206) 526-6446, bill.j.gordon@noaa.gov
Budget/Program Analyst - Laurie Barber, (206) 526-6695, laurie.barber@noaa.gov
Office Automation Secretary - Sondra Huber, (206) 526-6623, sondra.huber@noaa.gov
SEP Assistant - Lisa Glover, (206) 526-6446, lisa.glover@noaa.gov
Fax - 206-526-6506
Website address -
http://www.ndc.noaa.gov
Mailing Address -
NOAA Diving Center
7600 Sand Point Way NE
Seattle, WA 98115-0070

TRAINING SCHEDULE

All required training course materials (training request, physical, equipment measurement form, swim test, etc.) for the January Working Diver and Divemaster courses are due ASAP to NDC. A general reminder for all diver candidates to follow the new NOAA diving medical standards and use the new medical forms as applicable. Failure to submit all required training forms by the dates specified in the training packet may cause you to lose your training position in the upcoming classes…. Please contact Laurie Barber at NDC if you have any questions about the above.

Dates for the next Working Diver Refresher course are set for March 26 - 29, 2002 (Tuesday - Friday). This 4-day course is designed to “refresh” divers whose NOAA certification has lapsed for a year or more. It’s also designed to certify active recreationally certified divers above the basic entry level as NOAA Scientific Divers. Please contact LT Bill Cobb if you are interested in attending this refresher course.End of Article

The following classes are scheduled for 2002:
Jan 14 - Feb 1 Working Diver Key West, FL
Jan 28 - Feb 1 Divemaster Key West, FL
Mar 26 - 29 Diver Refresher Seattle, WA
Apr 29 - May 17 Working Diver Seattle, WA
May 20 - 24 Divemaster Seattle, WA
Sep 9 - 27 Working Diver Seattle, WA
Sep 23 - 27 Divemaster Seattle, WA
 
ANNUAL REPORT

The NOAA Diving Program FY2001 Annual Report has been completed and is being printed as we speak. During FY2001, 372 NOAA divers from NMFS, NOS, OAR, NWS, and OMAO completed 12,860 dives for over 7,000 hours of bottom time with two DCS injuries. Since 1989, NOAA divers have completed over 128,000 dives with a safe dive rate of 99.98%, or 1 DCS case every 5,000 dives. Thank you to all who contributed to this report. End of Article

TRI TEST KITS

TRI air compressor test kits will be mailed to all ships/units the third week in January. Testing and return of the kits needs to be done immediately after receipt in order to avoid a late charge. If the late January timing will not work for your ship/unit, please contact Laurie Barber to reschedule. End of Article

NEW NDP WEBSITE

Just a reminder to check out the new NDC web site at http://www.ndc.noaa.gov. Information on NOAA diver duties, training, certification, reciprocity, etc., is available at this site, along with all NOAA diving forms and a link to the online dive log. End of Article

SCIENTIFIC DIVER EXAM 1.2

Scientific diver exam 1.2 is available to all UDSs. Please destroy all other versions of this exam. Previous exams should NOT be used as a study aid for scientific diver candidates. Contact NDC if you need a copy of exam 1.2. End of Article



Previous Newsletter Previous Newsletter Page 2 NDP Home Page Next Newsletter Next Newsletter