``````Topside Banner

Volume 3, Number 14, Page 1

 

November 2001


Director - Dave Dinsmore, (206) 526-6705, dave.dinsmore@noaa.gov
Operations Manager - Bill Cobb, (206) 526-6460, bill.cobb@noaa.gov
Equipment Coordinator - Steve Urick, (206) 526-6223, steve.urick@noaa.gov
SEP Technician - Bill Gordon, (206) 526-6446
Budget/Program Analyst - Laurie Barber, (206) 526-6695, laurie.barber@noaa.gov
Office Automation Secretary - Sondra Huber, (206) 526-6623, sondra.huber@noaa.gov
SEP Assistant - Lisa Glover, (206) 526-6446, lisa.glover@noaa.gov
Fax - 206-526-6506
Website address -
http://www.ndc.noaa.gov
Mailing Address -
NOAA Diving Center
7600 Sand Point Way NE
Seattle, WA 98115-0070

TRAINING SCHEDULE

Applications for training are no longer being accepted for the EMT-Basic, Dive Medic, or January Working Diver or Divemaster courses. These courses are full, overflowing, bursting at the seams. There is still room in the 1-day EMT CBT refresher on December 8 (yes, that is a Saturday!). It’s also not too early to apply for the May Working Diver and Divemaster courses. A general reminder for all diver candidates to follow the new NOAA diving medical standards and use the new medical forms as applicable. Please contact Laurie Barber if you are interested in any of these courses.

A Diver Refresher course is also tentatively scheduled for March 2002. This 4-day course is designed to “refresh” divers whose NOAA certification has lapsed for a year or more. It’s also designed to certify active recreationally certified divers as NOAA Scientific Divers. Please contact LT Bill Cobb if you are interested in attending this refresher course.End of Article

The following classes are scheduled for 2001:
Nov 26 - Dec 7 EMT - Basic Seattle, WA
Dec 8 EMT CBT Seattle, WA
Dec 10 - 15 Dive Medic Seattle, WA
2002 :
Jan 14 - Feb 1 Working Diver Key West, FL
Jan 28 - Feb 1 Divemaster Key West, FL
March TBD
(4 days)
Diver Refresher Seattle, WA
Apr 29 - May 17 Working Diver Seattle, WA
May 20 - 24 Divemaster Seattle, WA
 
SEP ASSESSMENT LETTERS

Final SEP assessment letters for FY2001 were mailed to the different Line Office Budget Officers November 15. Thank you to all UDSs who responded with changes to the initial assessment letters. End of Article
 

NEW STAFF MEMBER

The NOAA Diving Center would like to welcome Mr. Bill Gordon to the NOAA Diving Program. Bill will fill the SEP Technician position at NDC beginning November 19. He has experience as a commercial diver, technical diver, rebreather diver, and was most recently an instructor at the Divers Institute of Technology in Seattle, WA. In addition to his equipment duties, Bill will also be a classroom and in-water instructor during diving courses. WELCOME BILL! End of Article
 

DIVE COMPUTER UPDATE

Eleven Datamax Pro+ and UWATEC Aladin Pro Ultra Dive computers have been distributed to NOS, OAR, and NMFS divers for a final 1-2 month evaluation. Results of this testing will determine which computer is approved for use by NOAA divers. End of Article
 

SCIENTIFIC DIVER EXAM 1.2

Scientific diver exam 1.2 is available to all UDSs. Please destroy all other versions of this exam. Previous exams should NOT be used as a study aid for scientific diver candidates. Contact NDC if you need a copy of exam 1.2. End of Article



Previous Newsletter Previous Newsletter Page 2 NDP Home Page Next Newsletter Next Newsletter