Topside Banner

Volume 3, Number 12, Page 1

 

September 2001


Director - Dave Dinsmore, (206) 526-6705, dave.dinsmore@noaa.gov
Operations Manager - Bill Cobb, (206) 526-6460, bill.cobb@noaa.gov
Equipment Coordinator - Steve Urick, (206) 526-6223, steve.urick@noaa.gov
SEP Technician - Vacant
Budget/Program Analyst - Laurie Barber, (206) 526-6695, laurie.barber@noaa.gov
Office Automation Secretary - Sondra Huber, (206) 526-6623, sondra.huber@noaa.gov
SEP Assistant - Lisa Glover, (206) 526-6446, lisa.glover@noaa.gov
Fax - 206-526-6506
Website address -
http://www.ndc.noaa.gov
Mailing Address -
NOAA Diving Center
7600 Sand Point Way NE
Seattle, WA 98115-0070

TRAINING SCHEDULE
The following classes are scheduled for 2001:
Sep 10 - 28 Working Diver Seattle, WA
Sep 24 - 28 Divemaster Seattle, WA
Nov 26 - Dec 7 EMT - Basic Seattle, WA
Dec 8 EMT CBT Seattle, WA
Dec 10 - 15 Dive Medic Seattle, WA
2002:
Jan 14 - Feb 1 Working Diver Key West, FL
Jan 28 - Feb 1 Divemaster Key West, FL
May  6 - 24 Working Diver Seattle, WA
May 20 - 24 Divemaster Seattle, WA
DEPARTING NDC

Andrea Lim is leaving NOAA to spend more time at home with her 3-month old daughter Makahla. Andrea has been the SEP Technician and an instructor at NDC for the last two years. She will be sorely missed by everyone at the Diving Center. Good luck, Andrea!
Lisa Glover will continue to work in the SEP program and will be your point of contact for SEP equipment needs.
NDC will be accepting applications for the SEP Technician position during the next several weeks. See www.jobs.doc.gov for more information. End of Article

TRI KITS

A reminder that tests using the TRI dive air compressor test kits should have been completed and the test kit returned to TRI. Any late charges will be passed to the ship/unit. End of Article

 
FY 2002 DIVE ORDERS

If you have not already done so... Commands are requested to provide a list of all officers needing dive orders for FY 2002 to NDC by September 14, 2001. End of Article
 

DIVE COMPUTER UPDATE

Eleven Oceanic Datamax Pro+ and eleven Scubapro/UWATEC Aladin Pro Ultra dive computers have been purchased by NDC for field testing. LODO’s will distribute these computers to select divers for field testing and evaluation over a 1—2 month period. Results of this testing will be used to determine if one or both of these computers are approved for use by NOAA divers. End of Article
 

CALL FOR DIVING PHOTOS

NDC needs your help... The Center is in constant need of diving photographs that depict NOAA diving operations, both above and below the surface. These photos end up on the NDP web site, NDC publications, and in training lectures. It is a great opportunity to get free publicity for your divers, diving unit, and program. Please submit any photos you would like used to LT Bill Cobb at the NDC mailing address, or e-mail bill.cobb@noaa.gov. E-mailed digital photographs are preferred, but regular photographs, digital photograph files on disk, slides, or negatives are acceptable formats. Please include a note if you need the submitted items returned. Thanks! End of Article



Previous Newsletter Previous Newsletter Page 2 NDP Home Page Next Newsletter Next Newsletter