Topside Banner

Volume 3, Number 10, Page 1

 

July 2001


Director - Dave Dinsmore, (206) 526-6705, dave.dinsmore@noaa.gov
Operations Manager - Bill Cobb, (206) 526-6460, bill.cobb@noaa.gov
Equipment Coordinator - Steve Urick, (206) 526-6223, steve.urick@noaa.gov
SEP Technician - Andrea Lim, (206) 526-6446, andrea.lim@noaa.gov
Budget/Program Analyst - Laurie Barber, (206) 526-6695, laurie.barber@noaa.gov
Office Automation Secretary - Sondra Huber, (206) 526-6623, sondra.huber@noaa.gov
SEP Assistant - Lisa Glover, (206) 526-6446, lisa.glover@noaa.gov
Fax - 206-526-6506
Website address -
http://www.ndc.noaa.gov
Mailing Address -
NOAA Diving Center
7600 Sand Point Way NE
Seattle, WA 98115

DIVE COMPUTER UPDATE

Diver testing of the Aqualung/Suunto Cobra, Oceanic Datamax Pro+, and the Scubapro/UWATEC Pro Nitrox will be held at the Florida Keys Community College in Key West, FL, July 30 & 31 and at the NOAA Diving Center in Seattle, WA, August 7, 8, and 9. If you are in either area and would like to assist with this test/evaluation process, please contact Steve Baumgartner (Key West, 305-872-7751) or Steve Urick (Seattle, 206-526-6223) for more information. NO TRAVEL, PER DIEM, ETC. COSTS WILL COVERED FOR DIVERS VOLUNTEERING TO ASSIST WITH THIS EVALUATION End of Article

Photo of Dave Dinsmore and Scott Gudes

Acting NOAA Administrator Scott Gudes receiving an Honorary Diving Certificate from Dave Dinsmore, DNPD

 
TRAINING SCHEDULE

The September Working Diver course looks like it will be a full course. Diver candidates must submit the following items to Laurie Barber by August 3, 2001: NOAA Diving Training Request and Authorization form, completed NOAA diving physical, and Standardized Equipment Measurement form. All of these forms are available at the following web address: www.ndc.noaa.gov/uds/forms.htm. Completed forms can be mailed or faxed to the Diving Center. Please contact Laurie with any questions about class enrollment requirements

There is still room in the August 2124 Dive Refresher course . If your ship or unit has a diver that requires refresher training (lapse in diving activity one year or longer), please contact Laurie B. A completed diving physical, NOAA Diving training request form, and SEP Measurement form should be submitted to NDC by August 6, 2001

Also, it is not too early to contact Laurie with regard to the January Working Diver/Divemaster courses.End of Article

The following classes are scheduled for 2001:
Aug 21 - 24 Diver Refresher Seattle, WA
Sep 10 - 28 Working Diver Seattle, WA
Sep 24 - 28 Divemaster Seattle, WA
Nov 26 - Dec 7 EMT - Basic Seattle, WA
Dec 10 - 15 Dive Medic Seattle, WA
2002 :
Jan 14 - Feb 1 Working Diver Key West, FL
Jan 28 - Feb 1 Divemaster Key West, FL
May  6 - 24 Working Diver Seattle, WA
May 20 - 24 Divemaster Seattle, WA


Previous Newsletter Previous Newsletter Page 2 NDP Home Page Next Newsletter Next Newsletter